Love People.

I’ve been spending time thinking about people. Sometimes two people are polar opposites and sometimes they’re remarkably identical. Relationship dynamics vary from person to person – it takes effort to get to know someone and even more effort to know them deeply.

While thinking about people, I have a basic and foundational truth that I base all thoughts on:

People are inherently valuable.

My feelings toward any particular person doesn’t change the fact that they have worth. Similarly, any other person’s feelings toward me doesn’t affect my worth. The reality is, relationships can be messy. As broken people, it’s practical to expect us to have broken relationships, right?

I think it’s important what we do with those broken relationships and fellow broken people. God’s response to sin was love, not hatred or condemnation. No, our Creator values us despite how many times we fail. That’s what I’m striving to do in my life – love and honor people regardless of anything else. Because people have value.

“What’s the price of a pet canary? Some loose change, right? And God cares what happens to it even more than you do. He pays even greater attention to you, down to the last detail – even numbering the hairs on your head! So don’t be intimidated by all this bully talk. You’re worth more than a million canaries.”

Matthew 10:29-31 (MSG)

One thought on “Love People.

  1. Love your thoughts here. Some people never learn that behavior and the person are not synonymous. We can love the person and not the behaviors. We can have grief over an action, and still love the person. People are valuable!

Leave a comment